Electoral Commission

Transparency. Fairness. Integrity


+233 (0) 30 396 8750

structure of the commission

  1. Article 43(1) provides that the Commission shall consist of seven (7) members:
  • A Chairman

The Chairman is the Chief Executive of the Commission;

  • Two Deputy Chairmen

The two Deputy Chairmen are in charge of three broad divisions of the Commission i.e. Finance, Administration and Electoral Services divisions; and

  • Four other Members.

The Commission is required to meet, anywhere in Ghana, designated by the Chairman. The Commission is to meet at least once in every two (2) months, that is, six (6) times in a year.

The seven (7) Members of the Commission collectively constitute the policy-making and management body of the organization and exercise general supervision over the activities of its staff. Section 7 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1993 (ACT 451) empowers the Commission to appoint such Committees as it deems necessary for the discharge of its functions. Such Committees may include persons who are not Members of the Commission, but must be chaired by a Member of the Commission. The decisions of the Committees are not binding on the Commission.

  1. Article 52 requires the Commission to appoint officers and other employees in Consultation with the Public Services Commission. From this basic structure, the Commission has established a more elaborate three-tier structure consisting of the
  • Head Office
  • Regional Offices and
  • District Offices


The day-to-day administration of the Commission is run by the Chairman and the two (2) Deputy Chairmen, who are permanently situated at the Head Office. Collectively or individually, they perform the managerial functions of the Commission.


There are seven (7) functional departments at the Head Office. Each department is headed by a Director who is assisted by Unit Heads. The departments are:- Electoral services; Human Resource; Finance; Training; Administration; Research, Monitoring & Evaluation; Information Technology.


A Director, assisted by at least one Deputy Regional Director heads the regional office of the Commission. Unlike the head Office, a regional office and its staff are not formally organized into functional divisions and departments. A Regional Director and the staff combine Electoral Services, Finance and Administration functions. Consequently, the Regional Director reports to the Commission through the Head Office Directors, as the case may be.


A District Electoral Office (DEO) heads the district office of the Commission and manages the auxiliary staff. The DEO works under the direct supervision of the Regional Director. Like the Regional Office, a DEO has no functional divisions or department but reports to Head Office Directors through the Regional Director, as the case may be.

ELECTION OFFICIALS (permanent and ad hoc poll staff)

During elections, the Commission engages thousands of officials of various categories in temporary elections duties. They are not formally part of the Commission, but their services are so vital to the work of the Commission that they must be regarded as an informal part of the structure of the Electoral Commission.
The District Electoral Officer (DEO) recruits and works closely with these officials.
Investigating complaints about the Commission’s activities. In this connection, the DEO is required to:
  • Recruit the best persons available for the job at hand.
  • Organize and supervise their proper training.
  • Instill in them the correct attitude towards electoral work (impartiality, probity and
    Accountability) and to maintain the integrity of the Commission.
  • Co-ordinate their activities in the spirit of team work; and
  • Accord them, the importance, respect and dignity that they deserve.
A place holder for the Organogram of the Electoral Commission